Expert trauma care in the Greater Nashville area

TriStar Health trauma centers have specialized equipment and resources. This ensures we can provide immediate, effective care for severely injured patients.

If you have an emergency, call 911. A paramedic will assess your condition and take you to an ER or trauma center.

With traumatic injuries, time is crucial. That is why our trauma units are staffed 24/7 by multidisciplinary teams, including:

  • Board-certified trauma surgeons
  • Neurosurgeons
  • Orthopedic surgeons
  • Specially trained trauma nurses

Trauma center classifications

Trauma centers range from Level I to Level V, as designated by the American College of Surgeons. All trauma centers use specialized equipment to treat traumatic injuries. These are injuries that can cause disability or death. Examples include spine fractures, brain damage and piercing wounds.

Level II Trauma Center

TriStar Skyline in Nashville has a Level II Trauma Center. This classification means hospital staff can treat the most severe medical emergencies. To receive a Level II classification, a trauma center must:

  • Have 24-hour immediate coverage from:
    • General surgeons
    • Orthopedic surgeons
    • Neurosurgeons
    • Anesthesiologists
    • Emergency physicians
    • Radiologists
  • Offer specialized care, such as cardiac surgery

Level III Trauma Centers

TriStar Horizon, TriStar StoneCrest and TriStar Summit have Level III Trauma Centers. To receive the Level III classification, a trauma center must:

  • Provide prompt emergency services for patients, including stabilization, resuscitation, surgery and intensive care.
  • Have 24-hour emergency coverage from physicians, general surgeons and anesthesiologists
  • Provide back-up care for local hospitals

Dedicated trauma emergency rooms (ERs)

In addition to the trauma centers listed above, several TriStar Health hospitals have trauma ERs. These specialized facilities allow doctors and nurses to stabilize patients with traumatic injuries. From there, we can continue administering care. We will also determine whether we should move a patient to a trauma center for treatment.